Hi! And advice if possible, plz

Guest marley123

Guest marley123

Great Forum by the way.

Anyway, male here 41, Wife 35, two kids 11 + 13.

Been seriously considering a move to OZ now for the last three years and it looks like Adelaide is the option that would most likely suit us.

We havent actually started the process yet as i am in my final year of getting an NVQ 3 in Health and social care as i want to work with people who have learning disabilities. The Wife has got many qualifications in Beauty therapy so she will be the main person on the application. One problem that really concerns me is, we rent a house and have not got the capital to invest in a home over there! So i have done the math and both our wages over there would reach around the 90 grand a year, is this actually enough for a family of four to survive on and eventually get a morgage on a respectable house?

Guest Libby1971

I couldn't say for sure as what one person thinks is decent may not be to another's taste.

We did bring some money with us and that coupled with a mortgage mean we live nicely with a salary less than your combined wage. Only one of us is working at the moment and that means we are ok. Our girls eat like horses adn we are doing ok.

It would depend upon your idea of a ncie house and what the house prices are like at the time.

Libby

Guest marley123

Thanks for the reply Libby.

Should have clarified what i mean by a decent house. Something in the 200 range as long as it was in a decent area. But the mortgage is the problem and dont know if we would get one on the income we both would be on, and seeing as we would be first time buyers!

More research i think lol

Guest graandjac

:)Hi Guys , i see no reason why not , seeing as the average South Australia wage is aprox the $45,000 mark, so $90,000 would be a good start. And remembere as a first time buyer you get the $12,000 rebate Cheers Graham