Another one looking to escape............

Guest ben&sharon

Guest ben&sharon

Hiya,

We're really new to this, but I've found this forum really helpful - great to get some real opinions. I'm an accountant, and the husband's a plumber, so if there's anyone out there with any info on these trades, we'd love to hear from you. We also come with a four month old baby boy and two cats (just to make life easy for us....!! :wink: ). Currently in the waiting process for my skills assessment to come back from the NIA, so we've a really long way to go yet. It's taken a long time for us to make this decision, but now we have, it can't come quick enough!

Sharon

Guest jen&ian

Hi Ben & Sharon,

Welcome to PIA, It's a nerve wracking wait I know, and at the time it seems like the waiting goes on forever, but when you get that email to say your visa has been granted its all worth it, for us that moment came 2 days ago after 10 months wait from application, and about 5 years of daydreaming and deliberating.

good luck

Jen :D

Guest ben&sharon

Hi Jen,

Nice to get a response so quickly - and congratulations on getting your visas! :D 10 months seems really quick, from what I've heard. Any idea when you're going yet? Do you know what area you're headed for, or are you going to rent somewhere for a while first? Sorry to bombard you with questions - there seems to be so much to think about!

Sharon.

Guest jen&ian

Hi Sharon,

In answer to your questions, we think we are heading south of the city, but we'll probably need to be within easy reach of the CBD as Ian is in the IT industry. We have a few areas in mind but I don't think its possible to make a final choice till you get there and see it for yourself. Flagstaff Hill sounds nice, also Hallet Cove and Moana to name a few!