This is my first post here and looking for some feedback.

Guest alieninoz

Guest alieninoz

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here and looking for some feedback.:unsure:

My family and I are on the verge moving to Adelaide but last minute doubts are with us, you know the sort of thing, getting a job, how much stuff costs etc and things like there isn’t the likes of Tesco there which you can buy a microwave for £20 (for example) costs a lot more in Australia.

I work as an Architectural Technician (not qualified) using AutoCAD, and from what I can see on the jobs sites there seems to be a fair few jobs in that field for about $50-60k which I hope will cover the cost of living. The wife worked in Human resources/ personnel management and she is having a problem finding any suitable jobs listed, now it may be totally different when (if) we get out there.

We have two children aged 2 & 4 and a dog if she makes it over (dog is getting on a bit now).

It has got to the point now that we need to go or we just forget about the 3 or 4 years (and money) and start again here. We have had our 3 year visas for about a year now and if we don’t get there by the end of September I think we have missed the boat to stay and longer the next two years.

We have been living in limbo for years now, we sold our house in Weston Super Mare to fund the move, I got a job in Cambridge so we moved to a rented house there and we have been living out of boxes for years now, we need to get back to a normal life if only for the children if nothing else.

Truth be known we are both terrified of what of will happen if it all goes wrong and we end up coming back with heads down.

Not sure what I’m looking for by posting this on the site but I do feel a bit like I have got something off my chest.

:sad:

Thanks for reading,

Alan

Hi Alan,

first of all welcome to PIA.