Hi - Newbie Here!

Guest Mrs Goose

Guest Mrs Goose

Hi everyone - I'm Michelle and this is my first post here.

I've taken the plunge and signed up because a few weeks ago, out of the blue, my OH was offered a job in Adelaide (lecturing at the Uni of SA).

We've never been to Australia, and have about a zillion questions, but at the moment are trying to get a feel of what Adelaide is like and whether we'd want to live there (if all continues to plan we'll come over for a visit early next year)

We're currently in Sheffield - and looking outside at yet another utterly miserable rainy day here, the thought of Australia is very tempting! I'm also really excited by the thought of living in a city of festivals - the fringe looks great.

So, a few quick questions to kick-off:

We'd be looking for a veggie-friendly place to live, with local shops and cafes to walk to and reasonable (state) schools. Can anyone recommend where to start to look? I've been trawling through website after website and getting more and more confused. There seem to be lots of new-build suburbs - but that's not really our scene. Where do the lefty/veggie/grauniad-types live/hang-out? OHs job would be in the City Centre, but I'll be taking my job with me and working from home, and don't want to be stuck out somewhere with no-where to walk to and no-one to talk to!

The next question is from our youngest , who is 9 and totally football crazy - Will there be any kids footie teams for him to join? It's the deal-breaker for him, as his only comment on the idea of emigrating so far has been "OMG, do they even PLAY football over there?":)

Thanks for reading - Looking forward to hearing back from anyone already over there!

Guest ReadyPenny

Hi Michelle