Why Adelaide

Guest henrid01

Guest henrid01

Hi Folks, I'm new to this form but maybe shouldn't be here....as I'm an ex-Adelaidian living in Surrey (for the last 3 years). But will be moving back..... (in a few years).

I stumbled onto this forum as I'm about to head back to Adelaide to visit family and was looking for info about shipping.

Anyway, just as a matter of curiosity, I was wondering why any of you chose Adelaide over the "more popular" states of say Victoria or NSW? Has the SA govt been doing a push for immigration or something? Was it job prospects? The beaches?

Don't get wrong, I think Adelaide's a fantastic place, but always felt it took a back seat to other places in Australia.

Cheers

Dave.

Hi Dave

Welcome to PIA. From our point of view it seemed like our best bet - I know that doesn't sound very complimentary, but believe me it's not meant in any other way. We needed the extra points that State Sponsorship gives you and as hubby is a Painter & Decorator it would mean that in Western Australia and Victoria we would have to live not only outside the city but WAY out of it and nowhere near the beach! New South Wales didn't want us at all and we didnt' fancy the Northern Territory. In South Australia you are not restricted to just the outlaying areas - Adelaide is an option for us settling in too, so South Australia it was for us.

Yes, the SA govt. seems very welcoming with on-arrival accommodation, meet and greet services, migrant employment consultancy service and monthy information services.

Don't know how others came by their decisions, but that's ours.

How have you enjoyed your three years in Surrey?

Wendy

Guest henrid01