Newbie.......Nurse......Oz here we come!

Guest NickAlEllaHolly

Guest NickAlEllaHolly

Hello everyone,

Just joined about 20 mins ago. I am a psychiatric nurse looking into the possibility of emigrating to Australia, Adelaide sounds wonderful. Just now got to convince the wife, who's parents live 2 miles away !!! Anyone one else with parents who were that close ??? Before the move....How have you got on ???

Anyway......a big hello from a rainy Wales, soon hopefully a sunny Australia......

Nick ;)

Hi! there, welcome to PIA. I am also an RMN in South Wales. Just starting the process of applying for registration in Oz. We also fancy Adelaide but have the same dilemma as you, family only around the corner. It's the distance really but still we have our own family and their future to think of. The other unknown is how different work might be, but then again thats also a positive challenge I suppose. I noticed they are recruiting in Adelaide for mental health nurses as there have been major changes and money put into services there. Looks interesting. I think O'Grady Peyton are recruiting for this. All the best, will look out for your posts. If you check out Poms in Oz they have a nurses link with loads of good info on it!

Hi Nick,

Welcome to PIA

I would say that moving here it is only going to work if you both want to do it. If she is only going to do it because you want it so bad it won't work once you get here. The fact that her parents only live round the corner so to speak will only make matters work. I would mention it a few times and then ask her what she thinks of doing it.

Life here can be good. It can also be hell if you are extremely close to friends and relations back home.

Think hard and make sure your wife really wants to come out before you start the process.

Pete

Guest maxxangel

Hi and welcome to the site.