Sign in to follow this  
Guest Mouse

Jet-lagged Newbie here!

Guest Mouse

Hello all :)

I have been in Adelaide about 40 hours now, and I am still waiting for the jet lag to settle down. I've suffered several bouts of narcolepsy today, and am now bouncing off the walls at 1 in the morning.

So, my story is that I have moved from Salisbury for love. My other half is an Aussie, who was over in the UK last year. Not the sanest of reasons for moving, I'll admit, and the maddest thing I have done in my 36 years of existence, but there it is, and here I am.

I found this site after typing "employment agencies in Adelaide visa" into Google, and got a hit on a thread from this site... it was a bit like finding an oasis in a dessert. I must admit as the hours tick by I am feeling a bit overwhelmed by this whole thing. I'm great with goals, it's just that in this case I was so busy achieving this one in short order (a deadline imposed by the RAAF, not me) that I haven't really been able to set up my next one, that of finding a job.

I've done plenty of the visa-fact-finding leg work prior to my arrival here (mainly because the international company I was working for could not be bothered to do any themselves), but at the last it came down to staying put in the UK and saying goodbye to to the love of my life for the 3rd time in 6 months, or jumping feet first into the scariest situation I've ever put myself in.

So, I'm not a doctor, or a teacher, or any of those hens-teeth kind of professions that means I get a zillion points and move right in with a visa. I think I'm going to have to go down the employer-sponsored route. My experience is in Project and Business Management, with over 7 years of it in the Aerospace Defence Industry. Does anyone out there have any good advice / experience that they could pass on to me on which agencies to approach?