Sign in to follow this  
Guest bugbabe

Teaching in SA

Guest bugbabe

Hi,

Any teachers out there tell me about their interview experiences in SA?

I have been on the DECS site and everything seems so longwinded and complicated! Because I wont be in the PPP, does it mean I will struggle to find a permanent position?

Obviously dont mind doing some temporary work at the start, but I am quite driven and would like to be promoted to management eventually, which means securing a permanent position. I am an English and Media teacher, and have noticed that English is a demand subject.

Hopefully it just seems so confusing because I am not used to another country's department of education - hopefully!

I am in my second year of teaching here in the UK and have just been promoted to anaylse school data and national league tables (almost as boring as it sounds ha ha!)

I have read from another post that league tables will be introduced soon into Aus so hopefully that will give me an advantage, or will it?

So, what are my chances of actually getting an interview if I am not in the PPP? Are there as many jobs around as there are in the UK? And also, what is the teaching experience like comparted to the UK? (I know this will obviouslky vary from school to school and area etc)

If anyone could shed some light on the matter I'd be really grateful.

Thanks, Claire.

Guest cazzie

Hi Claire,