Sign in to follow this  
Guest pager33

Should we go for it?

Guest pager33

We are a family of 4, me and hubby are 38, son is 14 and daughter 10. I'm a practice nurse, hubby is a telephone engineer. We have been thinking of a move to Oz or NZ for the past 2 years and Adelaide really appeals to us.

Things however get complicated as our 14 yr old son has Aspergers and not sure if he would pass the medical. His physical health is perfect but he attends a special school and have been told he may be seen as a drain on Oz resources. Anyone know if this is true? We are toying with the idea of waiting til he is 16 before making the move as by then he will be able to leave education.

We've been to an Expo and met some lovely people from the SA nursing board who were desperate to get me a job out there!

Our daughter is really positive about a move as is husband even though it means him leaving the family business. Initially I would be the wage earner and we would get a visa through me being a nurse. Not sure wether to go down the sponsored route or do it all ourselves. A friend made the move to Brisbane in 2008 and is loving it, shes also a nurse so has been able to tell me alot about the work/ pay etc.

We are planning a trip down under to Adelaide next year as I think we really need to see Adelaide for ourselves. Its a bit difficult deciding when to go as we are restricted with the kids in school so thought about going for 3 weeks in August but not really wanting to go in their winter. Have others with kids gone for a reccie and taken the kids out of school? can anyone point me in the right direction please.

Guest doje6863

Hello, Im also a Nurse and have worked as a practice nurse until three months ago, so if you need anymore info about Nursing in Adelaide, give me a shout. We had never been to Australia even before we turned up 2 1/2years ago. We love adelaide, but are considering moving interstate due to partners work (or lack of) issues.

donna

Guest pager33