Australian nursing and miwifery council

Guest ladybird

Guest ladybird

calling all nurses and midwives!! I note from the skills assessment that you are required to provide a transcript - what is this and how do you get it??

I apologise if this is a dumb question but you never know if you don't ask!

Hi I am a Midwife and I have just received confirmation from ANMC that the "letter of determination" (what you get when they OK your skills) is on the way.

You obtain the transcript from the University tou undertook your Diploma or Degree. It is confirmation of how many hours your training involved theory and how many hours practice was covered. It has to have official stamp on it. It cost me £35.00 but came from Plymouth University with 2 weeks. The ANMC skills assessment took 8 weeks to come back.

Guest ladybird

Hi,

Thank you for that it was most helpful. Have you had any contact with hospitals in adelaide? I'm hoping to see a couple when we visit in feb but it'd be nice to have some recommendations!!

Thanks again

No I have not had any contact with hospitals as yet but now I have my ANMC letter (it came today) I will send off to South Australian Nurses Board to become registered with them and then send CV's to hospitals. I am just about to commence integrated Midwifery which is really good so would like to work in and out if it is possible in SA. Lucky you being able to visit first. We are just going for it. Have never been to Australia biut I know I will love it. Just got to convince the kids aged 13 and 9 who are less than keen.

Where are you working at the moment in the hospital or out in community?

Guest ladybird

Hiya,

We're going out first as we have friends in perth and visited them as part of our honeymoon in 2005 and weren't that keen! So for us we need to visit and make sure it is the right place.