health ins. on 457 visa

Guest rodders

Guest rodders

Hi, I've just recieved word that my sponsorship application has been accepted, so will hopefully be heading down under soon. Only I've heard I need to send proof of health insurance with my 457 visa application. Please can anybody help me???:confused:

Hi Rodders.

I'm no visa expert so cannot say whether it is a requirement to have it on this type of visa.

Anyway it is certainly more expensive to take health insurance on a temporary visa than being on a permanent one but anyway try this company Private Health Insurance Australia - iSelect they should be able to advise on the best type of plan to suit you.

Andy

Guest guest3462

Have the DIAC told you this? Because we are in Adelaide on a 457 visa and we have no private health cover, nor were we asked to provide details of any. Maybe its a new thing, but we certainly didnt need it to get here in 2009.

If you do want some then mutual community or medibank are the only ones that we have found with decent (if expensive) cover for non permenant residents.

JC

We are on 457 too (for another 3 weeks or so!!). This is for people coming from countries who DO NOT have a reciprocal health care agreement with Oz. As the UK does, you will be entitled to the same Medi-Care (Oz version of NHS, but with some charges) cover as Oz citizens. So i don't think you need to worry about it. However it is worth taking out some health cover when you get here, especially if yo have kids. Minimum i would go for would be at least ambulance cover, as it costs a fortune if one is required, ambulance cover can be obtained from post offices etc for as little as $300 per year. We took out extras and ambulance cover from Medibank, $70.00 per month for the platinum, cover optical, dental and lots more.

Guest guest3462