minty

Electrical Engineer With an HNC

Hi all,

Havent posted for a while as i am getting my head into working and waiting untill the new lists come out to see where it puts us (electrician on a 176). However i have come up with an idea :idea: and from my initial investigation it looks promising. I have seen that electrical engineers are on the critical list so as an electrician i would have to do a HNC to get clasified as an electrical engineer in the UK.

I contacted engineers Australia who asses engineers for the purpose of migration to see if they recognised the HNC and this is what they replied with.

For your information only, the engineering categories in Australia are (in decreasing order);

- Professional Engineers - 4 years full time Bachelor of Engineering at university, after 12 years schooling (Engineers Australia)

- Engineering Technologist - 3 years full time Bachelor of Technology at university, after 12 years schooling (Engineers Australia)

- Engineering Associates - 2 years full time Advanced Diploma at Technical College, after 12 years schooling (Engineers Australia)

A UK BTEC HNC (post 1986) is equivalent to the AQF Advanced Diploma, which corresponds to the Engineering Associate category.

A UK BTEC HNC (pre 1987) is equivalent to the AQF Bachelor of Technology, which corresponds to the Engineering Technologist category.

So from what they have replied with above it looks like yes they will recognise the HNC as an electrical engineering qualification for the purpose of migration. Now it will take me 12-18 months to complete but as a sparkie if i am not put on the critical list i could be waiting untill late 2012 anyway and it opens up more employment opertunities both here and in Aus when we finally get there.

Has anyone else done this and has anyone migrated as a electrical engineer on a HNC qualification. If so can you confirm that i have this right please.

Many thanks.

• Like 1

Guest tooeasy