Guest Rich&Susie

Career change?

Guest Rich&Susie

Hi everyone,

I'm posting this as the 'Rich' part of Rich&Susie. When the SMPs are released we will look at applying for a skilled visa under Susie's name as she has a job that we believe (hope) will be on the list. Susie is quite happy in the role that she's in and will look for something similar in Oz.

As for myself, i've always said that i'll be happy to do pretty much anything for a job when we get to Oz, but know that i would like to do something different to what i do now. I'm currently an analyst and have been for the past 4 years but have come to realise that i don't want to be stuck in an office for the rest of my life. I think i'd like something a bit more hands on, maybe involving re-training in something.

I suppose my question is has anyone else been in a similar situation and what did you end up doing?

Sorry if this is a generic question!

Rich

I was in the building industry back in the UK as a tradesman and then foreman when I came over here had a change, worked in a plastics factory for 6 months and then a car plant for about 7 years and now back in the building Industry.

Guest cornish Busdriver

My main trade is a web designer and software enginer / programmer but was a bus driver before that.

When we moved here i was gonna go back into computers again but the wages are crap here unless you work in Sydney or Perth and i couldnt face being sat behind a desk again for 16hrs a day staring at a screen so went back to bus driving.

The money is almost as good. my average take home is about $750pw but if i feel i wanna do a bit more i take home over a grand a week no-worries.

Just depends on what ya wanna try

OH is painter and decorater by trade, when we arrived in Aus he'd did alsorts of things, finally decided to do his Cert 3 in Disability and is now a support worker. He loves it and has more job satisfaction than he's ever had......... moneys not that bad either :)

Guest Daisy Duke

Hi Rich,