Hazel M

Which other languages are prominent in Adelaide?

Hi all,

Wasn't sure where to post this but since it involves education I plumped for here!!

I'm thinking of learning a new language (whilst still here in UK for the next few months) but I would like it to be a language I'll have the opportunity perhaps to utilise once we've moved. SO... I was thinking Polish at first (when I was there a few years ago I met a few Polish people on the farm I worked at)... but then thought perhaps Chinese (Mandarin) or Japanese may be more prevalent over there?

Any thoughts would be appreciated, I'm not sure if there a greater number of people who live in SA from any one of these countries or another, if that makes sense :unsure: Be interesting to find out what people think.

Thanks in advance,

Hazel

A lot of children learn Japanese in school, lots of Asians here but I guess there are lots of dialects with that. As a nurse I find I come across lots of older Greeks and Italians with limited English - that could be beneficial but you best get cracking!!!

Pick any you will come across most of them here, the houses round about us have Polish,Chinese,a few brits, Canadian,Russian,American,one of Baltic states, And thats only close by houses 200m or so and a couple of Aussies

Guest Guest75

Japanese is a very popular language to learn here.

It is relevant to the area.

Our friend's daughter has just returned from two years teaching English in Japan ( good money too!)

I did a ten week course in conversational mandarin through the WEA - great fun, nice people, interesting language, and the advantage that because it was just conversational, I didn't have to worry about all the characters!

Guest WhatNow?