Guest lee godsell

need to find work

Guest lee godsell

Hi everyone, i need a little help.

I am moveing to Adelaide early next year, i am a plumber and passed my vetasses.

Is there much work around at the moment? Also i dont have a clue where to live i suppose i need to go where the work is it all seems a bit daunting to me at the moment.

Lee.

Hi Lee,

Congratulations!

There's loads of plumbing work. The real money is working for yourself. This involves getting a business licence and registration and means doing the finance and law components of the small business management course.

Where to live is a personal choice. Best to hire a car from day one and drive around to see what areas you like. You wouldn't go wrong staying in the scenic south! Have a look on google at pics of Hallett Cove, Port Noarlunga, Christies beach, Seaford etc. If you need to know about suburbs just post a thread and ask for opinions.

Tamara

Guest lee godsell

Hi Tamara,

Thankyou for your reply, I have looked on the net for work but there dosent seem to be many jobs on there and the ones i have sent email dont even bother to reply.

Lee,

When you get here you will have to go to OCBA in the city to get a licence to work under supervision of a plumbing contractor.

They will not give you a licence until you have been to Regency TAFE to see Paul Hebard.

He will give you a letter to take back to OCBA and they will give you a Under Supervision Licence.

This will allow you to start working FOR a plumbing business.

As part of the deal you will have to complete the Migrants Plumbing course at the TAFE.

This course is split into different parts like drainage....sanitary...gas....and many more.

Each of the courses costs about $800 but you can claim some of this back.

I had to wait about 9 months to start the course some have waited longer.

Once you have completed the course....(no one can tell you how long the course will take!)

You can then start to do the next level,