Adelaide - Here We Come (I Hope)

Guest Andrew Paul Weston

Guest Andrew Paul Weston

Hi,

Have just found this wonderful site and would like to introduce myself and

my wife Larraine to you.

We live in a market town 30 mile north of London in Bedfordshire where we

are actively involved in the local community and commute into London for

the Arts/Theatres/Museums and of course bars and restaurants.

We have visited Australia twice in the past 4 years and on returning

in January 2007 we both agreed that just visiting was not good enough

we want to reside!

However, due to our ages (over 50) we can only get out on a RSMS Visa

where I would have to obtain Employer Sponsorship.

I am a Maintenance Electrician and have obtained City & Guilds Part 1

and Part 2, and Adelaide seems to have more Industrial Plant that would

suit my occupation. On reading the Adelaide Mercury the positions advertised

refer to "A Class Licence" required. Can anyone advise if this is an equivalent

qualification to City & Guilds, or if this is a.n.other examination I would have to

achieve?

Regards,

Andrew and Larraine

hello and welcome to this site :cute:

unfortunately our city&guild here won't do much for you as such.

it will give you the points to apply for the visa though (with many other things you'll have to provide of course) - the TRA at the very beginning.

as far as i know the 'a licence' is for certain professions to be able to work unsupervised.

my oh is also a maintenance electrician - he did his TRA as a fitter though (he's double skilled) - to be able to work his electrical stuff though he'll have to get the a licence in the end. and it could be quite a rough path to get it :confused:

you first need to apply for your ARTC (that's like the TRA but assessed by actual people who know the trade and can tell if you do know your stuff) - when you pass that you can apply for your a licence. you also need to do a h&s and cpr course.