Guest Rachel Abram

Book Keeping Jobs

Guest Rachel Abram

Can anyone advise on the amount of book-keeping work in Adelaide?

There are often a few adverts in the jobs paper on Saturday. A lot of finance work is often incorporated into an admin role over here. You would also need MYOB skills as it is a very popular package here.

Guest Rachel Abram

Hi Jessica. Thanks for that. I have heard MYOB mentioned before - is this a computer accounts program? like sage?

Yes, MYOB (Mind Your Own Business!!) is an accounting and payroll package and is definitely the most widely used package in Australia. See the link below.

MYOB | Accounting Software | Bookeeping Software | Training | Business Software

I work as a Business Trainer and Assessor and we have a lot of students coming to us to learn MYOB to gain employment or they are sent by their employers to gain the skills/qualification.

There are new regulations about bookkeeping which came in last year (check the ATO website) and if any jobs mention doing the BAS (Business Activity Statements) you will need to be a registered BAS Agent.:arghh:

Even some bookkeeping jobs will also need to be a BAS Agent or at least have Certificate IV in Financial Services (Bookkeeping or Accounting) which actually includes MYOB training which is available to do at TAFE.:)

Regards

Sandra

I do the monthly BAS where I work and remember panicking about that ATO stuff last year - rang them up though and it isn't as bad as it sounds. Can't remember what they said, but long and short of it was, it doesn't apply if you're employed by the company you're doing the BAS for I think. Only if you're offering to do it for another company...or something like that! They were actually quite helpful on the phone, so any doubts, give them a ring.

Hi Rachel

Thought I would post some of the book-keeping/admin/accounts jobs that were in todays job paper. There were a few more accounts jobs as well which I did not scan.