Self Build Houses

Guest Mark&Yvonne

Guest Mark&Yvonne

Hi all. There must be someone out there to help me, im a carpenter/joiner with experience in all aspects of the building trade. I am looking to move over (WHEN VISA ARRIVES) and the plan is to find a nice plot of land and build our own kit home & possibly making a living out of it. I am struggling to find a rough idea of the overall cost of a project like this and if it is really as realistic as i hope.

Any help would be hugely appreciated

Hi all. There must be someone out there to help me, im a carpenter/joiner with experience in all aspects of the building trade. I am looking to move over (WHEN VISA ARRIVES) and the plan is to find a nice plot of land and build our own kit home & possibly making a living out of it. I am struggling to find a rough idea of the overall cost of a project like this and if it is really as realistic as i hope.

Any help would be hugely appreciated

Here you go some sites from a quick search on Google might give you some idea and some have prices. looks like it would be possible

Kit Homes, Steel Prefab Homes, Steel Kit Homes Australia, Kit Homes QLD

Kit Homes & Steel Framed Homes | Australian Kit Homes - Steel Kit homes - Brick Kit Homes - Owner Builder

Paal Kit Homes || Steel Frame Kit Homes & Modular Homes Australia wide - NSW, Victoria, QLD, WA, SA, NT & Tasmania

Guest kangomik

You've lost me, not hard i know:goofy:

what is a "kit home"?

Is it like on the pommy tv shows where that fella spends 3 years slagging them off for building their own thing only to say it's wonderful when they are finished?

Some buy the "kits" from scandanavia.

Or do you mean you want to sit down with a builder and design your own home - if this is the case your on the wrong boat mate as every home builder has to do this anyway. Even down to motar colour choice.