Guest Madge

Sick Parent back in the UK-Elderly Parents the guilt the stress

Guest Madge

Hi

I am a newbie here so please be gentle, I also wasn't sure where to post this so apologies if I should have put it elsewhere.

I am really after some support from others who have been in a similar situation.

My dad is currently in hospital in the uk he is in his late 80's and in shocking health, this is his second admission this month. My mum is 79 and fairly fit but dosent cope well without dad around. At this stage I don't think his illness is life threatening but at that age who knows.

I am just trying to cope with the stress of remotely managing them, my sister is in the UK but is a fair distance from them. I call mum everyday but still feel tremendous guilt that I am not there to help out

How do I make the decision of when/if I should go back to see them? I dont want to go too early and end up having to go again. My DH is keen for me to go by myself when I decide the time is right but I feel that my two children aged 5 and half and 2 and a half are too little to be left without me but can also see that taking them isnt really the best option. Has anyone left their children to do a mercy dash home, how long did you go for?

Anyone?

Guest Nick11

Sorry can't help...some folk I know went straight away..some left it it for a while and then went...others waited til it was too late.

If only we had a crystal ball to tell us.

My sympathies go out to you...you are caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.

Guest MrsHills