Sign in to follow this  
Guest Adelaide_bound

Occupation query

Guest Adelaide_bound

My brain has gone a little fuzzy with all this research - we will be hoping to check with SA Gov in a couple of weeks at an expo, but wondered if anyone on here could also help - we are planning on going over on a 176 visa (not that fussy, but this seems to be matching our wants list (ie PR) and also seems to be the fastest processing time right now), so need to pin down our occupations.

Can anyone assist here please? Is someone's occupation what the relevant qualification authority says they are? Or do you also have to have worked in that occupation for the last 12 months?

For eg I am a teacher, and orginally trained on a Secondary PGCE, but have been working in Special Needs education for the last 2/3 years - so from reading the teaching aus forms, I think I would be assessed as a Secondary School teacher (as I don't need to submit evidence of working as a teacher for my assessment with them, as this part is covered by my birth certificate and A levels).

Looking at other things, I then do my IELTs (getting at least a 7), then I apply for SA SS, with my teacher qualification results from Teaching Aus (or its new name). Then apply for the 176 visa? Then all the other bits and pieces (eventually getting a CO, doing meds and police checks etc etc).

Does that sound right? If so, does it matter what exactly I have been teaching in recently? Or will SA SS want proof of recent work experience that matches exactly my qualification assessment?

Its all confusing!! If anyone could help we would really appreicate it :)

Thank you if you can....

Guest MutleyCrew

Sorry I can't provide answers to your points but it may be worth having a quick chat to an agent to get their advice etc. We have used Ian Harrop and he has been simply fantastic. I am sure if you were to call him he would be more than happy to give you a little guidance to help you. You can contact Ian on:

Tel: 01993824111