Sign in to follow this  
Guest mr lee

New Graduate careers?

Guest mr lee

I'm looking to emigrate from the UK and obviously a big part of this would be finding work. It is also what I am most worried about as I am a recent graduate. I obtained a 2:1 in Geography in June of last year and since then I have been a labourer in the construction industry and more recently, office staff for that same construction company.

My other major area of work experience is bar work. I worked in a student bar for 2 years at University.

I've had the variety of jobs you have being a student. Everything from sainsbury's shelf stacker to labouring on a landfill site and cleaning a primary school.

My concern is that none of these were for particularly long periods of time and will they lead to my application being denied. Or if not, what sort of things can I expect from my degree and work experience.

Any help in this matter would be massively appreciated even if it is to say im going to struggle (though I hope this is not the case)

Many thanks

Lee

Have you considered coming out on a Working Holiday Visa for a while? You may have already done this, but if not, it's definitely a way to check the place out without burning too many bridges behind you, and would give you a chance to chat to people, make some work contacts, and think about the best move forward from there. You may even meet a nice aussie girl, and then down the line, a spouse visa might beckon.....:D

Guest Martin and Val
    Have you considered coming out on a Working Holiday Visa for a while? You may have already done this, but if not, it's definitely a way to check the place out without burning too many bridges behind you, and would give you a chance to chat to people, make some work contacts, and think about the best move forward from there. You may even meet a nice aussie girl, and then down the line, a spouse visa might beckon.....:D

All good advice Diane,