Karen_Jon

Moving to Adelaide - where do we start?

Hi all,

We are so excited, our application has just been approved and we are awaiting our visas :o. We are movign to Adelaide form Manchester (UK), I am a primary teacher and my husband is a joiner / window fabricator and we have two beautiful girls (aged 6 and 8 months).

If anybody has any advice on the following, your thoughts and advise would be greatly appreciated.

We are unsure about where to reside - which areas are (NICE!) areas and middle of the road - not too expensive to rent?

Are there any teachers who can advise on securing a teaching job - can I apply from the UK or is it best to wait until I am in the country?

I'm presuming that once we have an idea of where we want to live we can then look at state schools for our 6 year old.

Will we need to set up a Australian bank account while we are in the UK?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Karen & Jon

Guest Pam777

Hi, congrats on your decision to move to Adelaide.

I too am from Manchester. I moved here with a 2 yr old and a 7 yr old nearly 6 years ago. best decision I have ever made. your kids are at a good age to adapt to the new life.

I live south of Adelaide and love the area, not far from beach and a short journey into the city.

I set up my bank account from the UK and just had to go for a meeting with the banks migration consultant when I arrived.

Good Luck!

Pam

I think Nick11 may be a primary school teacher (apologies to Nick11 if I'm wrong) so you could try by having a look through some of their previous posts: http://www.pomsinadelaide.com/forum/member.php?u=68 click on Statistics, and then view previous posts or something like that!