Guest NicNox

Have a Criminal Record: but are now training to be a Nurse.

Guest NicNox

Hello Everybody........Hope everyone is well :o

My name is Nicola and I am 26 years old from Surrey (originally from Hertfordshire), and I am currently in my 2nd year of studying to become a Nurse.

When I was 18 (June 2003, 8 years ago): I was arrested and convicted of Theft and subslequently have a criminal record. When I was 24 I decided to sort my life out and train to be a Nurse, which I am thoroughly enjoying, with the hope of emigrating Down Under as this has been an ambition since childhood. I hope to qualify as a Nurse in July 2012 (27 years of age).

My question is that: even though I will be a qualified Nurse (fingerscrossed) will my criminal record discount that out and I will I be granted entrance to Australia? Also, what do people know about Graduate Nursing Programmes? I understand that the Royal Adelaide offers this and just wondered what people's opinion on them would be.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to receiving any advice given. :D

Kind Regards

Nicola (Nic)

x

As far as the criminal record goes I've read on the sister forum that 12 month prison sentence is where they draw the line, more than that and :nah: You need to declare anything like that when you apply.

Just make sure you declare any warnings, cautions and convictions and give an account of them and how things are different for you now.

It may help to get your police check done before your application. That way you know exactly what is on there.

However, if you submit your application with the police check, the visa will be given from 12 months from that date.

Check out the character requirements on the DIAC site and you'll probably find you will be OK.

All the best!