Sign in to follow this  
Guest Shaun O

Teaching Assistants

Guest Shaun O

My wife is a teaching assistant and studying her NVQ Level 2 at present. Are there positions for teaching assistants in Adelaide?

Guest leeannekays

Hi, Im currently studying my Supported Teaching and Education in schools (teaching assistant). We think we will be going out next year if all goes to plan! What area are you thinking of heading for?

Guest Weez

Hi they are called SSO''s here (school service officers...i think!!) by 2013 you will need a certificate 3 in childcare so you should be able to get your qualifications recognised and changed over here, think you need to go to tafe for that, SSO jobs are hard to find and they usually just offer a years contract, tho once you foot is in the door you can usually be guaranteed on going work, a big shortage of SSO's are in special needs schools and units, you will always find work there.

Guest Team 'W'

Hi

NVQ level two is not recognised here in SA , i know cos i also have two and was progressing on to three when we arrived here , they do offer you some [not a great deal] starting points but you have to do all the foot work yourself ...

You will prob have to set yourself up on a course or two which isnt cheap unless you are on a visa thats going to be permanent ,then you will get help with fees and stuff ..

You can also apply to be a temp for them but again you have to get a police clearance from oz cos the uk one is not sufficient ..

Also you have to go on a first aid course [again at your own cost] some might waver this if they take you on ...

This is what i have experience while being here ,some people might say different and prob walked straight into a job ,which is fab if it works that way for you ...

But go for it !!!

Best wishes Elaine

Guest BurgessFamily