Guest ryanroberts21

Looking to move to SA in the next 12 months

Guest ryanroberts21

Hi All,

Me, my wife and 2 kids are looking to emigrate in the next 12-18 months. I currently work as a retail manager at tesco and my wife is due to qualify as a nurse at the end of december. We have only just started to look at the possibility of migrating but recognice SA would be our first choice as we have some extended family in Adelaide. I am basically looking for some advice on what would be the first steps we would take? Any information would be gratefully received! We would preferbly want to have a job lined up for one of us if not both so we are stable for our children. What sort of funds would we need to save to be able to start the process?

Cheers Guys

If you want to continue in the same line of work, it may be worth contacting the main supermarkets here in Adelaide, which are Coles, Woolworths and Foodland to find out about any vacancies that they may have.

Have you had an initial chat with a migration agent yet? Many offer free initial consultations and I think it is well worth getting some ideas of the different tyypes of visas you may be eligible for, and take it from there.

Amount of money you would need varies widely from one family to another - all you can guarantee is it will be more than you thought!! If you have jobs lined up that will obviously help, but you'll need to sort accommodation, transport and possible childcare, utilities, internet etc out in the first few months, as well as everyday stuff such as petrol, food and drink, and if you're moving into unfurnished accommodation within those first few months, you'll have to restock with all the food and cleaning essentials that you just acquire over years in the UK but can't bring with you here! Obviously this is on top of the costs of getting your visas, selling/renting your property in the UK, shipping your furniture (and any pets you can't leave behind), and your fares over here!

Good luck!