Secondary school teacher advise please?

Guest Helchops

Guest Helchops

Hi

I am a secondary school teacher and was wondering if anyone could shed some light on the rules and regulations on getting a job in Australia, i understand the basics, but does anyone have any information on courses that i will need to attend etc upon arriving in Australia, it would be useful to hear from someone who has gone through the whole process.

I am getting conflicting advise at the moment, but is there any chance i can apply for jobs before my VISA is granted?

Thanks in advance

Carlie

Hi,

When you arrive you will have to prove your qualifications (including having a transcript from your Uni) and it must be either a BEd or PGCE that you have completed. Then you undertake a Mandatory Notification course (which is one day and you will have to pay for this yourself - cost varies approx $125. Also you will need a basic first aid day course similar cost. When all this is done you fill in the forms and pay for your registration (about $250 from memory).

If you want to work for state schools you can then fill out their on-line forms and they can allocate you something if it comes up, other wise you can do relief teaching (suply teaching) and the best way forward with this is to take your c.v. direct to schools.

The private sector is easier in that you can apply for permanent posts, however they generally like to know you a bit and it is a very good idea to do some relief teaching in the schools you like the look of and wait for a perm post or contract to come up.

You wouldn't be able to apply for anything until you have your paperwork, so get it all in place before you come (apart from the courses which have to be done here - Man. Not can be done through Edmund Rice and first aid through Red Cross) there are of course other providers but you could maybe book those from the UK as a starting point.

Hope that helps a bit.

Guest cazzie

Hi Carlie,