Guest WelshBen

IT work in Adelaide

Guest WelshBen

Hi folks,

I am awaiting the results of my skills assessment, and rapildly approaching selecting a state for state sponsorship. As a software tester, my two options are South Australia and Victoria. South Australia is my first choice, as the lifestyle looks exactly what I'm looking for. I have been studying the Oz job sites, onbviously Victoria has by far more work in my field, but can any IT professionals in SA give me any reassurance that i can have successful career in SA? I have over 10 years experience and specialse in the financial services area.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Ben.

Hi Ben,

Something that may help you make your decision - on the State Migration Plan for SA, Software Tester (261314) is listed as "Special Conditions Applies". So unless you meet the special conditions, you won't qualify for sponsorship :( Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Maybe you could try another visa? Or apply to Victoria, you can always move to SA after!!

Hope this helps

sinob

Guest jen&ian

My husband had 10 years commercial experience as software developer in uk before we moved but was virtually impossible to find related work here in Adelaide. He ended up going into business for himself now runs own web design company, we made it work because we love it here, but had our move been dependent on his job would have been up poop creek.

Hope you find a way to make it work for you, best of luck.

Guest WelshBen

Thanks both for your reply.

With regards to the 'Special Conditions Apply' - that's a good spot, thanks. I'm confident I could get reassed as 'ICT Systems Test Engineer' as its alomst identical and still listed, but that would eat up precious time with the July changes looming.

I think the lack of IT work, will push me towards Victoria - initially anyway. Fingers crossed my occupation stays on the SOL.

Thanks again.