Information needed help please!!!

Guest yellowmonkey

Guest yellowmonkey

Hi I have recently been made redundant and as a result myself and my wife find ourselves at a bit of a crossroads...

We have been thinking about moving to Adelaide for a while and this has gained momentum with the unexpected redundancy.

Really we have no clue where to start and what is involved with the visa process.

From what I have read/researched it would be visa 175/176 (what is the difference?)

I am a Graphic Designer by trade and have done a few online assessments and have been told that I score 75 points so would qualify for a Regional State Visa.

So I guess the first few questions would be....

What costs are involved in applying for one (per couple)?

is it worth while hiring an emigration agent? How expensive are they?

How long does the process for the visa take?

Sorry if these are silly questions that are easy answerable elsewhere but my head is spinning at the moment trying to work out the best thing to do for us.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.

YM :err:

Lots of migration agents offer free initial consultations, so it might be worth finding someone local to you and going to have a chat with them - you're not committed to anything and should come away with information that's "straight from the horse's mouth" about costs and stuff.

You may find your case is pretty straightforward and you can go it alone, without an agent - there are plenty who have done this on the site who can help and advise on the various forms and procedures - or if your case is complicated you might prefer the comfort of having an agent on board. If I were in your shoes, I'd start with that initial consultation, come home, spend a few hours trawling through the Immigration website, and searching through previous posts on here, then you can make an informed decision on the next step!