Sign in to follow this  
Guest dishco

Moving to Adelaide this coming September

Guest dishco

Hello - new to the forum so be nice...

I just received confirmation of receipt of my visa (176) less than a month ago.

Myself and my wife are planning to move Adelaide way early September. Although the process of gathering information, applying for the various stages and the obligatory waiting for responses to those applications took around 18 months, the final answer and receipt of the visa happened very quickly, in 1 day in fact! So now we're in the position of trying to get our heads around actually achieving the goal we've been focused on for all this time.

I work in IT (network\sys admin) and my wife in credit control. From a quick scan of a few job websites and seeing a number of appointments which would be applicable to me, so that's somewhat comforting. 6 months is too soon to be applying for jobs, but i was thinking maybe beginning to do this a couple of months before arriving. Would many places conduct interviews via Skype or similar services?

We've started looking for accommodation, ideally a short term lease so we've somewhere to head to when we arrive, but that we're not stuck in if we get jobs the other side of the city. To us the Richmond area seems like a good place to head to, close to the CBD and also within throwing distance of the beach, but also reasonably well priced. Any suggestions regarding this thinking would be appreciated.

Any way, think that's enough. Lots to do and organise between here and there so see you around.

Dishco

Guest Ledges

Hi Dishco,

Congratulations !