Guest jlbrown1308

Opportunity

Guest jlbrown1308

Hi - new to the site today. Last week I was offered a job in Adelaide - HELP. looking to move with whole family. Never been to Austrailia before, but looks on the face of it an opportunity we cannot turn down. As I am new to this could do with some basic advise. Areas, schools and the million dollar answer to the question - Is it worth it???

Hi welcome to the site. Feel free to have a wonder around previous posts, use the search engine etc and ask about anything that is unclear. The answers to the question about which area to choose are as varied as the people on the site! A lot will depend on the type of people you are, the place where you'll be working, your budget, your lifestyle.... remember that no-one else will have exactly the same tastes as you, so really only you can choose! Some good sites to have a browse on also include http://www.realestate.com.au for rentals, http://www.whereis.com and http://www.raa.com.au/maps/ for distances and directions

Guest jlbrown1308

Well money offered is better than UK. so cant complain about that. But it is all a bit rushed. Think my wife is ready to pack and go. Will be around 12/15 weeks before I can go out and start and the family and furniture will have to follow later. The company have offered to pay for flights, moving costs etc so they must be keen. My biggest concern is finding right areas to live with the family (2 children 10 & 8). I suppose my questions are quite simple as the company are willing to assist on a lot of fronts. House rent or buy, findingcars - getting finance. cost of living - make sure my calcs are right. the usual worries. Shipping problems - what to bring what to leave behind.

Guest jlbrown1308