Josie

Is there a cheaper way to get my medication?

Hi there,

Ive been here for a week now and I'm absolutely loving it. House sorted. School sorted BUT I'm horrified by the prescription prices! I have a newly discovered heart problem and need daily medication. In the uk they could give me 6 months ramipril for one prescription price but here they will only let me have one month at a time for $35!!! So I have to pay it every month!! Does anyone know a way round this? It's sickening as I know this drug is off patent now and only costs £2 a packet to manufacture!!!

Thanks lots for your help. I'm new to all of this Medicare stuff! Xx

Hi there,

Ive been here for a week now and I'm absolutely loving it. House sorted. School sorted BUT I'm horrified by the prescription prices! I have a newly discovered heart problem and need daily medication. In the uk they could give me 6 months ramipril for one prescription price but here they will only let me have one month at a time for $35!!! So I have to pay it every month!! Does anyone know a way round this? It's sickening as I know this drug is off patent now and only costs £2 a packet to manufacture!!!

Thanks lots for your help. I'm new to all of this Medicare stuff! Xx

Pharmecuticals are not covered by medicare, unless you have a health care card then that would entitle you to a discount, try this link for rampril at Chemist Warehouse but you may need to travel to find a store or perhaps order online http://www.chemistwarehouse.com.au/searchresults.asp?searchsection=products&terms=ramipril&stype=NP&expand=0

Talk to your doctor about including repeats on his prescription and you may be able to get a quantity discount at the chemist. This works for my OH's medication requirements.

Welcome to the Aussie Medicare system! My husband and myself are on at least 5 different prescribed drugs per month ........ it costs us a fortune ......... although we have found that SOME Priceline pharmacies charge a bit less on some items.