Guest Charl.M

electrical work info needed

Guest Charl.M

Hi, my name is steve and this is my first thread. We are moving to adelaide, hopefully aug 2013, we are going there on my wife's visa. she is a nurse. I am an electrician and have been qualified now for 18 months and i'm just after some info regarding work. i don't have enough experience to get my skilled assessed so think i'll have to work as a trades assistant for 12 months to get my liscence. big question is, where do i start.

cheers

steve

Guest Lorraine Doyle

Hi Steve,

My son is in his 2nd year apprenticeship here. He is doing it through PEER VET. They may be able to advise you if you don't get any answers here. http://www.peer.com.au Adelaide office number is 08 8348 1200. The other way to get your licence once your qualified is through the Business Licensing Dept., Grenfel St, Adelaide. This has to be done once you arrive and not before.

Hope all of this helps.

Guest Katangel

My husband says if you have your nvq3 and jib gold card, the years of experience shouldn't matter. However if you have the domestic installer certificate you will need to do a full apprenticeship.

Guest Charl.M

Thanks for the replies. Lorraine thanks for that info. Katangel unfortunately I don't have nvq 3. The thing is I,m self employed and sub contract to a company. I wire boilers. Not sure if that is in demand in oz. I also do all kinds of domestic installations but don,t have the paperwork to back it up.