Citizenship clock to start over?

Guest BenJay

I am a permanent resident on visa 175. After almost 2 years in AU I left Adelaide this winter with my family because I got a very good 18 months IT contract in Poland. The problem now is that I've just realised I will be away from AU for more than 12 months and this will affect my citizenship waiting period.

In order to apply for the citizenship, you must not have been absent from Australia for more than 1 year during the 4 year period, including no more than 90 days in the year immediately before applying.

It seems that the only option I have is to come back to AU before 12 months period to meet the requirement but to leave my family behind for 6 months (!)

My question: does this really mean that when I return to AU after more than 12 months absence my 4 years 'citizenship' clock will start over again? Looks like yes. Maybe at least there is some way to 'apply' for a special consideration?

Or, if I come back to AU alone earlier, will my family at least get 'my citizenship waiting period' even if they stayed outside AU for more than 12 months?

Have you got any experience in this area? To me it looks like I will have to let the clock to be reset :confused:. Tough!

I guess there are good reasons for wanting people to live here 4 years before giving them a passport. I have realised after being here 4 years myself that actually it is a very good timeframe, and there are probably studies about the likelihood of people staying once they have been here that long.

Well, it looks like there is either one thing or another.

If they require you to be present 4 years in AU before applying for citizenship so be it. @AngPhil: you can't reset the clock by coming for holiday - your absence sums up and cannot be longer than 1 year in total over the 4 years period.