Guest listentotwig

Couple, with a couple questions, looking for a house/flat share

    Recommended Posts

    Guest listentotwig

    Hi all

    We're almost there! We arrive in Adelaide on the 21st of January, can't wait! I want to say a huge thanks to everyone on this forum for the help so far, it's been amazing!

     

    My girlfriend and I are looking for a house share when we get there. We have the 1st week booked in a hostel, and after that we were hoping to join a house/flat share. It's really difficult to find shares that aren't for university students!

     

    A couple questions:

    A) What would be looking to pay for a decent share in and around the CBD (not a dodgy room where we never see any other tenants, we want to move into a home).

     

    B) Are we allowed to move into university accommodation? We'd rather not but if we run out of options it's good to know.

     

    C) If there's anyone looking for a tenant then PLEASE let me know. We are professionals looking to integrate into the culture and we're hoping if we move in with other people we will get a better chance of experiencing that.

     

    Thanks in advance

    Share this post


    Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Guest evil_d

    Congrats,yes you can get student accommodation but it will be bit expensive

    Share this post


    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    realestate.com.au has a "share" section - it allows you to specify that you are a couple, price range etc.

    Share this post


    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Send a PM to Ali - he used a website that specialises in house shares/rooms to let etc which he was really happy with I think. I forget the name of it now but have read good reports of it elsewhere as well.

    Share this post


    Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Guest listentotwig

    Thanks for the responses guys, I'll look into it and report back.

    Share this post


    Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Guest listentotwig

    www.airbnb.com seems to be a really good option, however the prices aren't much better than hostels. That said, I'm hoping to meet people in the first few weeks and www.airbnb.com definitely facilitates that.

    Thanks for the help all, much appreciated!

    Share this post


    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now


    • Similar Content

      • By Marc Richards
        We emigrated 5 years ago and brought our house, be lovely to rent it out to a pommi family who want to live in a good suburb between the beach & CBD.  4 Beds, Pool, lovely kitchen, zoned for good schools,  etc.....  Here is the link for the ad on gumtree
        https://www.gumtree.com.au/m-my-ads.html?c=2&ctk=QINZn-seWbcJEjG9wscx6A&csrft=090effdc27f92bb71995fcfafbe94ae5
        Seller's description
        Date Listed: 30/09/2017 Last Edited: 30/09/2017 Dwelling Type: House For Rent By: Owner Available: 04/11/2017 Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom Parking: Off Street Smoking: No Furnished: No Pet Friendly: Yes INSIDE

        Four Bedrooms all with built in Robes & ceiling fans

        Open Plan Kitchen Diner with dishwasher, Oven, fridge freezer, mixer taps, filtered water tap, stone bench tops & space for table & chairs for both casual & formal dining.

        Large separate Lounge room – Gas combustion heater, ceiling fans, split A/C

        Bathroom – Large Freestanding bath, Separate shower, double sink Unit & toilet

        Laundry – Toilet, cupboard, worktop & Space for 2 front loading machines

        Split Reverse Cycle A/C Units & Smoke Alarms

        All windows & doors have fly screens

        OUTSIDE

        Pool & Spa bath (Solar Heated) with safety fencing (Salt Water Chlorinated)

        Remote Control gates providing secure entry & parking for 2 cars in carport & driveway

        3Kw Solar Panels

        Undercover Decked entertaining area

        Lock up shed

        Irrigated Veggie boxes

        OTHER INFO

        2 minute walk from linear Park & popular coffee shop, on bus route for City to Bay, 10 min drive to CBD, 7 min drive to Henley beach.

        Zoned for Lockleys Primary School & Underdale High.

        Pets at Landlords discretion