siandear

paying bills back in uk

Hi

I am moving to Adelaide in April, but I am keeping my home in Uk, is it easy enough to pay bills from Australia? I am unsure as each time I look it seems complicated. Also, with a salary of $82000 - what sort of wage will I take home in british pound terms!!

I am very new at this and would appreciate any advice or help - my 20 and 22 year old sons are staying in Uk and I want to make sure I keep the family home for them, but I cant seem to work out how easy it will be to pay bills once I am there - or convert my wage to see what I will have (if anything) after I pay for my UK home!!!!!:sad:

Guest Chris_J

Hard to say, but divide your wage by 2.2 for cost of living. A bit more difficult though as you're buying sterling too at the exchange rate.

What bills will you be paying? Are you renting the house out? You could use income from that to pay bills and save the transfer fees.

Comapnies like Currency Online LTD often give better rates for currency transfers - once set up it is very easy to use.

If it's things like council tax/ insurance, pay the year upfront so you don't have monthly bills. Other than that you shouldn't really have many bills if you aren't using the services.

I have just set up a Caxton Fastpay account (took about 2 minutes to do it online) as you can use them to transfer funds with no/minimal fees - my parents use them to pay bills in Spain at the moment, we will be using them both to transfer cash to Australia before we arrive (into Westpac accounts we have already set up) and to transfer money back into UK bank accounts for the same reason as you (bills etc back in the UK). Might be worth a look, we have never had any problems with them and set up is quick and easy.