noworriesmate

Builder or self-manage?

I'm at the point of looking to build a couple of houses on a block of land (Well i'm doing one and my son will do the other)

My question is whether to just simply get a few builders to quote for one/two of their kit homes or whether to design the houses we want using an architect and then self-manage the build going trade by trade. Anyone tried doing the second option? any thoughts or suggestions appreciated.

NWM

If you are going to live in them I'd say always get an architect in and have the house you want to live in (within your budget obviously). Flow, light and so on all play a part to what makes a house a home. do kit houses come in a decent range to give you options?

As snifter said depend if you want to stay in them. If your in the building trades its a whole lot easier to self manage. If not and don't know the trades you are using you could end up in a right mess and take twice as long and cost a lot more to build .

I'm at the point of looking to build a couple of houses on a block of land (Well i'm doing one and my son will do the other)

My question is whether to just simply get a few builders to quote for one/two of their kit homes or whether to design the houses we want using an architect and then self-manage the build going trade by trade. Anyone tried doing the second option? any thoughts or suggestions appreciated.

NWM