Guest Emmiejay

Guest Emmiejay
:cute: Hi, new to POA just started the long and daunting road that is the immigration process. My name is Emma I am a nurse currently working in an A & E department, before this I worked on a coronary care unit. My hubby, David is a fitter at a coach building company and we have 3 boys Ryan 18 yrs, Dan 16 yrs and Tristan 9 yr. If anybody has any words of wisdom for us in preparation for the visa/work/eduction etc they would be gratefully received. We are all nervous but very excited, hoping to be out in Adelaide by next June fingers crossed:wacko:

I agree with Tyke, your children will also be a year older at least when you get out here, they need to be in work and mobile as soon as possible it will then make your life a little less stresful. Our two children, age 20 & 18 when arrived, found it very difficult to settle the boy got work labouring in construction gave him money to run a car and persue his hobby in music, but still went through a depression, now at 35 is teaching music production at a private college and taking his masters degree at uni. The daughter is a UK trained chef but had trouble securing friends and permanment work and faced crap work place conditions/wages, as soon as we got citizenship, she went back to UK for a year enjoyed herself but came back calling Aus home, now married to an Aussie army bloke from Perth.

Life comes good but the road is rocky.

Keith

Hello and welcome :)

Not sure the ins and outs but is your oldest still dependant on you? As in at school or some such studying and not working etc? I recall reading about families wanting to migrate but their oldest or older children could not go on the application with them as they were no longer dependant and had moved out of home or gotten a job and so were earning. Not sure what visa type this falls under but thought it worth mentioning so you could double check.

Are you planning on using an agent or going DIY? And what visa type?

Guest MandiMR2