Guest Scottish Sophie-Sue

Student Midwife graduating in September 2014

Guest Scottish Sophie-Sue

Hi all,

I'm a mature student Midwife in my final year and have recently separated from my husband. Despite my change in circumstances I have decided to continue with my plan of moving to Adelaide when I graduate with my two children aged 7 & 9 and our dog!

Ideally I'd like to secure a sponsored job, although unsure if I'll need 1-2 years post qualifying experience?? I'm DESPERATE to move, to start a fresh, experience new adventures and secure a happy and fulfilling life in Australia :cute:. Any advice gratefully appreciated. x

I can't help you on the nursing and I'm sorry to hear about your relationship break up, but just wanted to say how wonderful it is that you are getting out there and moving on with your life. Go for it and I wish you every joy and happiness.

I think it would be easier with experience in all honesty. You could look at permanent residency that way. All newly qualified midwives and nurses here have to do a GMP or GNP year following qualification - graduate nurse/midwife program. These are sought after positions and there aren't enough positions for all that qualify.

Guest Cherries002

Hi... I graduated as an adult nurse in Sept 2013, Ive spent the last 6 years planning our move for me, hubby and 2 girls (15 & 17), everyone still as eager as day 1 6+ years ago when we first approached the idea. I secured a job on the wards straight away and have been busy working since then. After a month I thought I would start the process but I thought I would benefit from the experience and have delayed the application until NOW!

I have annual leave this month and my sights are set on getting the ball rolling now, Ive spoken to a migration company who confirmed the following: