What is Adelaide like for a newly arrived family?

Guest Palepoms

Guest Palepoms

We are currently going through the visa process and hope to move down under some time this year.

We are a family of four, with one Girl (11 in August ) and a boy (7 in April). I am a beauty therapist and my hubby is a carpenter, we have both been self employed for many years in the UK but would probably like to be employed in Oz.

Before we had the children we spent a year in Oz, we spent most of this time in Sydney which we loved. However, this time we are looking for a more family friendly area. We have heard excellent reports on Melbourne

but we are also very interested in Adelaide so would love your comments. Can anyone point us in the right direction so that we can do a bit of research at this end. Where's a family friendly place to live with good schools? Where are the best beaches, parks, leisure centres etc, how's the jobs market?

Thanks

Jenni

Guest Claire-n-tel

Hi Jenni, Your questions are all a bit open, :biggrin: probably the first thing to do is to sit and go through this forum, you will find hundreds of posts on areas, schools, suburbs etc. Also the are several adelaide immigration websites where you can get info.

What visa are you coming on? You say you are hoping to come this year but not sure which city to live in even?......It sounds like you need to do a lot of research and talking about what you want as a family as a first stop.

It is a very exciting time good luck:jiggy:

Guest Guest75

Hi Jenni - good advice from the old and wise Claire..............:cute:

Adelaide is well known as a family friendly city ,especially towards migrating families.

It's a lot more relaxed and the kids do just have a safe,clean and fantastic environment to grow up in.

Good ages to bring your kids out as well. Our daughter was 10 when we came out,she settled well.:biggrin:

Guest Palepoms