Scottish teacher moving in Easter

Guest Kirsteenx26

Guest Kirsteenx26

Hi,

I'm currently a teacher in Scotland and wanted to clarify what the general work day/week is like for teachers in Australia. Just now the school day runs (with children in attendance) from 9-3. 5 hours 15 mins of this is teaching time. Can anyone tell me what an ordinary day will be like in Australia?

In Scotland, a teacher also gets 2.5 hours a week out of class for planning, preparation and correction. Do teachers in Australia get something similar?

Thanks in advance.

Kirsteen

Hi,

I'm currently a teacher in Scotland and wanted to clarify what the general work day/week is like for teachers in Australia. Just now the school day runs (with children in attendance) from 9-3. 5 hours 15 mins of this is teaching time. Can anyone tell me what an ordinary day will be like in Australia?

In Scotland, a teacher also gets 2.5 hours a week out of class for planning, preparation and correction. Do teachers in Australia get something similar?

Thanks in advance.

Kirsteen

Hi Kirsteen

are you primary or secondary trained ?

Well, at the school my kid goes to the school day runs from 8:50-3:10 but the classroom doors open at 8:40 and the teachers are there from then as kids unpack and get organised. Teachers have time for lesson planning an afternoon a week. His old school it was a morning.

I have family who teach at primary level. They tend to be at their schools by 7:30-7:45am and don't leave till about 4pm, sometimes, quite often actually at certain times of year etc, later. I don't know this is normal for all teachers but it's what they do.