Friend's situation: 457 and possible negligence by imm lawyer

Sallyh

Ok so be kind and gentle to me because I'm here on a permanent resident visa because I'm married to an Aussie. I know nothing about 457's.

But our friends are here from overseas, and struggling now, I believe, through negligent advice from their immigration advisor / lawyer.

I don't know how this works. I'm a uk qualified solicitor but I don't practice any more. But from my personal knowledge of the system from our own immigration and visa experience, both in the uk with Dh, and then as we moved here, I think my friend's advisor is potentially negligent. Enough alarm bells to me for me to think I'd be asking for the file.

- I have some questions. I don't want to name the person that is working in the matter. But:

- My friend's dh is stranded in their country of origin. She's here with 2 young kids. He went back for a meeting, and got told by the immigration people that he'd overstayed his visitor visa without leaving and returning.

- They weren't given the details of having to leave and come back

- I don't think they should ever have been advised to come here on visitor visas to get their work here up and running.

- They are here on church business, setting up internships for students to come and volunteer in places like missions etc.

- their agent didn't submit the applications for the 457 when they thought she had

- they sent emails even from 3 days of being here, asking about the formal visa application and wanting to get things sorted. No replies. And nothing had been done

- this agent is now apologising to them in phone calls

- if I were advising them I would be suggesting we requested the file.