Adelaide or Melbourne

Carltons

Hi there,

I am new to this forum so please be gentle!!

My husband (44yrs), myself (soon to be 40yrs) and my 3 children (18yrs, 16yrs & 13yrs), will hopefully be moving to Aus toward the end of August 2018.  We were originally set on Melbourne as it appears to be a great city, though after trawling through forums, the feedback appears to be a little negative, likening Melbourne to places like London, extremely busy, over crowded, rat race, and expensive.

I am a Midwife and my husband is a senior logistics manager so we need to be in an area (either Adelaide or Melbourne) that will accommodate our professions.  My eldest wishes to go to University to study Law and my 16yr old also wants to head off to University to study architecture.  We are therefore trying to work out where we would be best placed in Australia.

We are from Sheffield, and whilst we like to have shops, bars, restaurants and cafe's on our doorstep, we also like the idea of being near local parks and beaches to go for walks and relaxing days.  We would ideally like to come home from work and spend time in our own garden (hopefully with a swimming pool) and enjoy a mild temperature with a BBQ and a beer!  We also have two little doggies which will be joining us on our adventure.

Can anyone give any advice on which city would best suit our needs, and then also which areas of the city?  I know I'm asking a lot!!

I look forward to all your help, and please be honest people, this is a huge move for us, especially as our daughter isn't really keen on the move, so it has to be right!

Thankyou :)

Hello and welcome to the forum.

I honestly cannot comment on Melbourne as never lived there. We did consider it as an option when we moved over (for husband it was moving back to Aus) but its size, climate and also the fact property is so damned expensive and we'd have been a long way out most likely and that wasn't what we fancied at the time.