Guest halfadozen

Construction Manager / Plumber ??

Guest halfadozen

Hi All

Having read your posts I'm hoping you might be able to give me a bit of advice? I am currently a contracts manager in the UK and have the NVQ level 5 in Contracts Management (post graduate degree equivelant). The trouble is vetassess are not accepting this as degree equivalent and will only treat it as a diploma and therefore I will not be able to apply under the 50 point occupation Construction Project Manager. I am 40 years old so with all my points I am only up to 85 in this case and therefore can't even apply for state sponsorship as I need 90 for this. It seems mad as I have 6 years Contracts Management experience and over 20 years experience in the building industry. When I left school I worked for 3 years as a plumber although I never qualified, I have kept this up on a casual part time basis in recent years so as not to 'lose' it, I have been told that to apply for the visa as a plumber I do not need qualifications but do need to have the experience, which I have got. So I am now thinking should I try this route as it will give me more points to get in?

Going from being really down thinking we'll never get in to being more determined to get there and start our new life!

Any advice would be really appreciated, thanks x

Guest graandjac

:)Sounds like ......thats should be the way in , there are planty of people who have done this , Iam sure he wont mind but Ian b did the same . He came over as (well arrives tomorrow) a carpenter but is infact is a Site Manager , and the good thing about a 136 skilled visa is you dont have to work in the occupation you applied as , seems a bit daft but Iam a roof tiler but am looking to head in a different direction, good luck Cheers Graham

Yes Graham is 100% correct.

I applied on my trade background as a carpenter as that gave me the points needed. Although im a Site Manager now (after all the demotions!;))