AndiWilko

Starting from Scratch

Hello! 

I’ve just registered for this forum. Back story is a year ago I turned down a job in Singapore, and ever since I realised there’s a desire for something else. 

My best friend moved to Adelaide 7 years ago & believes I would do well out here. 

Im a qualified teacher both in school and further Ed with two post grads, for the last six years I’ve ran and owned a digital marketing agency, I’m a web designer & a capable SEO & digital marketer. 

My husband is a fine art landscape photographer & skilled in graphic design but also has project management skill in site management 

I don’t know where to start, which routes to take; do I apply for a visa or apply for jobs. Where do I start?!

we have two daughters 7 and 5 and I have two adult sons who are still in uni so would for the most part remain here in UK but may look to follow later 

thanks so much in advance for any advice 

Hello and welcome. I'm a bit out of the loop with the actual visa process these days. However, given what you've said above, I'd suggest the visa first route. That is if you or your husband are eligible and able to apply. There is a skills list for visas and if your profession is on there or you or your husband have the relevant skills to meet the requirements, then you could investigate that further. I'm honestly not sure what, if anything you would qualify under to apply for a visa these days. I've not looked at the skills list to know. If your teaching degree is 3 years then that might not be enough as IIRC Aus requires the 4th year. FWIW, teachers are plentiful here, at least in South Australia in the metro area. Its out in the sticks in regional Aus they tend to be needing them. 

For example, this visa may be something to have a read up on https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getting-a-visa/visa-listing/skilled-independent-189   Keep in mind if you are over 45 and the main applicant, there is an age limit.