Sign in to follow this  
Guest Aaron

457 Temporary business long stay visa and residency

Guest Aaron

Hey all, im on a 457 Temporary business long stay visa for 2 years and was wondering if there is any way or gaining residency with this visa. I really want to stay beyond the 2 years i have but hopefully want more freedom to change to the career i have a degree in. Im really settled here and have been with my ozzie GF for 14 months and have made tons of great friends and cant see myself going back to london.

Any ideas or advise would be awesome guys.

Looking into seeing a migration aget soon to see what i can do but though i'd ask here first so i have some idea of things to look into.

Aaron

Guest ems

Hi Aaron.

I'm not 100% how it all works but i will be coming to Adelaide on the 457 visa in January and we have been told by the hospital that they will put us through for PR after 3 months. Have you asked the company you are currently working for about this? They might be able to help. Once you have PR maybe you could then change your job (depending on wether or not there is clause to the company putting you through for PR).

Hopefully someone will be able to give you a more definate answer. Good luck with it all.

Emma.

Guest Aaron

The HR at my current job is all new to it as i was the first person they ever sponsored so im not sure. I'll look into it though. I have called the dept of citizenship etc about stuff but they seem to have no idea and all they do is read from the website which in itself is very brief for this visa.

Thanx for the quick reply, i'll def look into that tomorrow.

Guest ems

Isn't it great when the people who are meant to know the answers to questions just don't have a clue. Hope you get it sorted soon.

Guest melbourneben

The 457 visa has no option to upgrade or transfer to PR as far as I know. The way I see it you have 2 options:

1. Ask your employer to sponsor you for PR