Nurse going to Oz-looking for advice please!

Guest Matt'nKim

Guest Matt'nKim

Hi, we're new here, and have been thinking of emigrating to Oz for a while now, and Adelaide seems to be offering what we are looking for.

I'm over 45, so understand a temporary visa is the way to go, then I'm told if an employer likes me, then we can apply for permanent residency?

Anyway, I'm 50 in Nov, with a very young family, a 1 year old daughter and Kim is expecting another baby in March/April.'09

We decided we do not want to go until the new baby is born,so we have some time.

My background is thus:

I qualified as a Registered General Nurse in 1985, and left the NHS for 5 years, and regained my PIN 4 years ago after attending a 'Return to Practice' course.

Since that time,I have been working in a very busy Acute Medical Unit.

I work for the NHS nurse bank, and spend all my time in the AMU, so am very experienced in that area.

When I trained, it was completed on site ay my hospital in the education centre, but since then, the training has moved to a local university campus.

I'm guessing that my educational papers will need to be seen along with my application, but would my Return to Practice documents suffice, and do I need to approach them for copies, what do I need to do please?

Can anyone provide me with a link to a website, or forum thread which might answer these questions for me?

We are looking to leave the UK for the same reasons many others do, so please could someone help?

Finally, I contacted an agent, who emailed me a .pdf document with an application form to apply in SA to work in nursing.

The form looks daunting, and apart from the obvious reference demands, most of it is a little confusing-has anyone else here completed this document, and can anyone assist me with it please? The agent charges £650 to help get visas for all of us,and says he will get me sponsored employment before we get there, is this a tad expensive, or the going rate?