Sign in to follow this  
Guest alexx_ox

thinking about migrating but don't know where to start?

Guest alexx_ox

hi

me and my family are starting to think about migrating to australia but don't know where to start. i am currently studying in my third year at university to be a primary school teacher and my wife is a office manager. i am 39 year old, 40 this year and have two children under the age of 18. i have looked at alot of websites on this subject but find it all too confusing. i have used one of those points calculators and qualify with 120 points (i marked the question as yes i have a skilled occupation, but i wont untill next year) so i think i am eligable to apply for a visa but don't know when to. can i apply now as i am still at university and don't yet have my skilled occupation (but i will in june 2010) and how long in advance should i? i have also seen on a few websites (even the au government) that the length of work experience in your chosen field differs, on one site it said 3 out of 4 years and on another 12 out of 24 months, can someone tell me which is right and give me any advice on the matter? also does anyone know about total costs? all comments are welcome on even just one of the questions i have asked (:

thanks

Guest Dave & Carole

Welcome - it's a nightmare to try & work it all out. It took us a few months to finally make the decision to do this and then trying to work out the paperwork was even worse. We did lots of "points tests" & each time it came back different. Many people on here have done the paperwork themselves, but we used an agent & she was fantastic - advising us which route we could take & which of us was best as the main applicant. She didn't charge us anything unitl we actually agreed which visa to apply for. If you want her email address let me know.

Carole

Guest Kazzarazza
    hi