In a real dilemma

Guest friends4life

Guest friends4life

Hi guys,

I am new to poms in adelaide and would like to start by saying hi to you all.

Ok where do i start! We are in a real dilemma but also on a complete high as we received our grant for SA a week ago.

Now it has finally happened our dilemma is where do we start.

We have never been to South Australia but heard so many fantastic things which will change our children and our lives completely.

Our first dilemma is should we just pack up send all our furniture etc. on and our little dog or should we come out for a month and find good areas to rent with good schools.

Also how would we know a good area from a bad one and which are good schools.

I have a 13 year old daughter and a 10 year old son and they are our main priority to get them settled.

Can anyone also recommend a site where we can find short term rentals and information on schools.

My final question (sorry) is my daughter is 14 in August which school year will she be in and when do they take their SACEs and my 10 year old son will be 11 in December and which school year will he be in.

I appreciate any advice you have and thank you very much for your time in answering my questions.

Thanks Again.

Friends4Life

Guest rich

Just on your first dilemma - if you can stretch to it, I think it is definitely worth a visit to see if it is what you visualise. My wife and I have been 3 times (2 on hols, 1 recce) and particularly on the third time (but a little 2nd time) were able to make a formal decision. That way you can ascertain areas to live. We spent a week driving about but it was very worthwhile, best thing we did really. Hope this helps in some small way!

Rich

Your daughter would go into yr9 next year in January . Your son would go into yr 6 next year.

High school starts at yr 8. SACE will now start with a few components at yr10 but the main subjects are taken at yr11 and 12, with Yr 12 being scored for uni entry.