Anyone else affected by the recent changes?

Guest nurse sue

Guest nurse sue

I no longer meet the 120 points now that the modl has been withdrawn. :sad:

i dont know whether to wait and see what happens mid year or just apply for a temp or ens visa (providing i can get a job!!)

as a nurse, i know there is work out there for me, but i wanted to apply for a 175 as i wanted to be able to work part time til i knew the kids were settled, with a view to going full time after about a year.

:sad:

anyone else been affected by the changes??

:(

Guest thekings

Eh??? I'm surprised that as a nurse you are affected by this. Have heard of a few people waiting to see whats happening mid year (as advised by their agents!) but no nurses till now :unsure:

Guest nurse sue

I havent got the 3 out of 4 years recent experience (the previous 20 years experience dont seem to count for anything), and as im 42 i only get 15 points for my age + 25 for english (fingers crossed i get a decent ielts score) and 60 for being a nurse.

so only 100 im afraid ... :(

so im sure there are other nurses affected who are in a similar position to me who cant get a 175.

Guest thekings

Thats a bummer, have you tried securing a job first? A friend of mine did that last year and she is over 45!!! but being offerered a job (from an expo in London) was enough to get her a visa (dont know which one) and she moved over about 8 months ago.

Apply for state sponsorhip and go on 176. You only need 100 points. It gives you the same benefits of a 175. I was in exactly the same position as you, 42, not 3 out of 4 years experience( due to only working 19hrs a week for last 7 years), despite 20 years experinece. We got state sponsorhip and are awaiting a response on our visa application at the mo.

Donna

Guest nurse sue