Electricians Quals

Guest keith&ju

Guest keith&ju

Hi all. I wonder if anyone can give me a definitive answer to this question.

Im a fully qualified electrician looking to move out to Adelaide in about March next year. I've done the Vetassess bit, got the visa and just waiting on the sale of our house before we move. In the meantime, I was under the impression that you can start your Australian regs course in England so that youre almost ready to apply for your licence when you get out there. Ive looked on the PEER website and spoken to them on the phone and they have told me that I need to get an ARTC certificate first before I can start the distant learning stuff. At the same time, I have also been told by our agent that I cant do any distant learning and that I have to do it all when we arrive.

Which one is the right way of doing this? And whats TAFE??

If anyone knows, please let me know. Im going greyer by the day worrying about this!!!

Hello,

Its a mine field for sparkies but im almost at the end of it so can help you. Bin the vets route or you will be working as a trades assistant for 12 months.

Apply to the TRA for an ARTC certificate now you have the visa. Email this girl at PEER Rebecca@peer.com.au you can start the wiring regs course via distance learning as long as you have a OSTR or the ARTC so someone has told you wrong there. They post the books and distance learning stuff over and if you get this done its just a week at the PEER collage and then with the ARTC and the wiring regs cert you can get your A class licence straight away. TAFE is just another name for the collage as far as im aware.

Hope this helps and let us know if you need anymore help.

Guest keith&ju

Thanks for that. I assume a trades assisstant is another name for dogs body. Minimum wages for maximum work.